#### MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT NELSON TOWN HALL ON 29<sup>th</sup> JANUARY, 2025

# PRESENT-

His Worship the Mayor (Councillor M. Aslam – in the Chair)

# Councillors

M. Adnan F Ahmad N. Ahmed S. Ahmed Z. Ali M. Ammar R Anwar N. Ashraf C. Church D. Cockburn-Price S. Cockburn-Price D. Gallear M. Hanif D. Hartley M. Iqbal Y. Iqbal M. Kaleem S. Land D. Lord A. Mahmood B. Newman R. O'Connor K. Salter M. Strickland M. Stone Y Tennant D. Whipp T. Whipp

(Apologies for absence were received from Councillors N. Butterworth, T. Ormerod and A. Sutcliffe).

#### \*\*\*\*

61.

## **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

Members were reminded of the legal requirements concerning the declaration of interests.

There were no declarations of interest.

#### 62. COUNCIL TO VOTE ON – REMOVAL OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL, COUNCILLOR ASJAD MAHMOOD FROM OFFICE

His Worship the Mayor, Councillor M. Aslam, outlined the Constitutional procedure that had been followed and motion that was to be considered at this meeting as follows:

In accordance with Part 4 of the Constitution, Paragraph 3.1, Calling Extraordinary meetings, the Chief Executive may call an Extra-ordinary meeting of Council. In addition, those listed below may request the Chief Executive to call Council meetings in addition to Ordinary meetings.

- (i) The Council by resolution;
- (ii) The Mayor;

#### Extraordinary Council 29.01.2025

- (iii) The Leader; the Monitoring Officer
- (iv) Any eight Members of the Council if they have signed a requisition presented to the Mayor and he/she has refused to call a meeting or has refused to call a meeting within seven days of the presentation of the requisition.

In accordance with sub paragraph (ii) above, Council M. Aslam, the Mayor, had been informed that the following eight members had signed a requisition, which had presented to him, in accordance with sub paragraph (iv) above the signatories being: Councillors C. Church, D. Hartley, S. Land, D. Lord, B. Newman, M. Strickland, D. Whipp, T. Whipp. The Mayor had then requested the Chief Executive to call this Extraordinary meeting and for the business to be transacted at this meeting as outlined below.

The following motion was moved in accordance with Part 4 of the Constitution, Paragraph 13.1 by Councillor D. Whipp and seconded by Councillor D. Hartley, that "Council resolves to remove the Leader of the Council, Councillor Asjad Mahmood, from office".

Councillor D. Whipp outlined his reasons and rationale to Council in submitting this Motion. He firstly acknowledged much of the good work the Shared Administration had achieved. However, he added that the issues around the implementation of the Taxi App or substitute and also that of Taxi Safety as considered at the December Council meeting; the resolution relating thereto; and that the voting of the Independent Group on this matter had broken a pre-existing agreement between Independent Group and Liberal Democrat Group in the shared administration position regarding these issues. Accordingly, Councillor D Whipp added his Group now had no confidence in the Council Leader, Councillor Asjad Mahmood and asked Council to vote for his removal as Leader of the Council.

It was further moved and seconded, that a recorded vote on the motion now put forward, "that Council resolves to remove the Leader of the Council, Councillor Asjad Mahmood, from office" be taken.

A recorded vote on the motion was taken and was as follows:

For: 7	Councillors C. Church, D. Hartley, S. Land, B. Newman, M. Strickland, D. Whipp, T. Whipp
Against: 14	His Worship, the Mayor, Councillor M Aslam and Councillors M. Adnan, F. Ahmad, S. Ahmed, Z. Ali, M. Ammar, R. Anwar, N. Ashraf, M. Hanif, M Iqbal, Y. Iqbal, M. Kaleem, A Mahmood, Y. Tennant
Abstain 8	Councillors N Ahmed, D. Cockburn-Price, S. Cockburn-Price, D. Gallear, D. Lord, R. O'Connor, K. Salter, M. Stone

## RESOLVED

The Motion was lost.

(Councillor Asjad Mahmood remains Leader of Pendle Borough Council).

His Worship the Mayor \_\_\_\_\_