LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND HOUSING ACT 1989 POLITICAL BALANCE RULES

- 1. The political balance rules require the Council to allocate places on relevant committees according to the strengths of the political groups on the Council. The rules apply to the following committees. They do not apply to the Executive or area committees.
- 2. The political groups and their current strengths are:-

Conservative 14 Labour 9 Liberal Democrat 7

- 3. Currently there are three Independent Councillors, but they do not want to be considered as a political group and therefore are not eligible to be allocated any of the committees set out below.
- 4. They are however, entitled to a place on Nelson, Brierfield and Reedley Committee because area committees must comprise all councillors for the wards in the area. In addition, they will be able to put themselves forward for membership of the Scrutiny 'Task and Finish' Groups.
- 5. The overall allocation of seats in committees is as follows:

Total: Conservative 22

Labour 14

Lib Dem 11

- 6. This is achieved by multiplying the number of committee places 47 by the number of members in the group and then dividing this by the overall number of eligible Councillors (30).
- 7. Membership of individual committees is as follows:

Accounts and Audit Committee (5)

Con 2.18 (2) Labour 1.71 (2) Lib Dem 1.09 (1)

Development Management (12)

Con 5.25 (5) Labour 4.12 (4) Lib Dem 2.62 (3)

Licensing Committee (9)

Con 3.93 (4) Labour 3.09 (3) Lib Dem 1.96 (2)

Taxi Licensing Committee (7)

Con 3.06 (3) Labour 2.40 (2) Lib Dem 1.53 (2)

Overview and Scrutiny Committee (9)

Con 3.93 (4) Labour 3.09 (3) Lib Dem 1.96 (2)

Standards Hearing Committee (5)

Con 2.18 (2) Labour 1.71 (2) Lib Dem 1.09 (1)

The Labour Group have two less seats than their overall entitlement however, the Conservative Group have a stronger case to be rounded up on some Committees than the Labour Group.