#### MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE PENDLE TWINNING ASSOCIATION HELD AT NELSON TOWN HALL ON 29<sup>TH</sup> JUNE, 2022

#### PRESENT -

Councillor B. Newman Mr. P. Mousdale Mr I. Graham

(Apologies for absence were received from Mrs. J. David, Mr R. Rostron, Mrs A. Rostron, Mr P. Carr, Ms. A. Gander and Councillor Y. Iqbal.)

#### \* \* \* \*

### 1. APPOINTMENT OF OFFICIALS OF THE ASSOCIATION

Consideration was given to the appointment of the Association's officials for the year 2022/2023.

#### RESOLVED

- (1) That the Mayor of Pendle, Councillor Y. Iqbal be appointed **President**.
- (2) That the Deputy Mayor, Councillor B. Newman, be appointed Vice-President.
- (3) That Mr I. Graham be appointed **Chairman.**

(Mr. I. Graham – Chairman in the Chair)

- (4) That Mrs J. David be appointed **Vice-Chairman**.
- (5) That the Corporate Director of Pendle Borough Council be appointed **Honorary Treasurer** for the time being.
- (6) That the Corporate Director of Pendle Borough Council be appointed **Honorary Secretary** for the time being.

The Corporate Director is retiring in August 2022. After serving on the Twinning Committee for over 25 years, he advised that someone else now needs to take on the roles of Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Secretary. He is not confident that someone in a senior position at the Council would do this. He stated Pendle Twinning Association now needs to find someone else to succeed him, ideally a member of the Association.

# RESOLVED

That Pendle Twinning Association find someone suitable to take on the roles of Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Secretary as soon as possible.

# 3. FINANCIAL STATEMENT

The Honorary Treasurer circulated a copy of the statement of Accounts and Balance Sheet for the year ending 31<sup>st</sup> March 2022.

## RESOLVED

That the Statement of Accounts and Balance Sheet be received.

## 4. APPOINTMENT OF TWINNING COMMITTEE

### RESOLVED

- (1) That the Pendle Twinning Association for 2022/23 comprise of the officials of the Association AND
  - Mr S. Barnes Mr. P. Carr Mr. D. Carter Ms. M. Chapman

Mr. P. & Mrs. C. Clegg Mrs. J. David Ms A. Gander Mr. I. Graham Mr. N. Hunt Ms S. Large Mrs. J. Myers Mr R. & Mrs. A. Rostron Mr M. Timberlake

- (2) That members be asked to pay a £10 membership fee for the year ending 31<sup>st</sup> March 2023, and for this to be paid as soon as possible.
- 5.

## ANY OTHER BUSINESS

Members agreed that there needed to be a drive for new members, especially younger members. The membership fee was kept at £10 to encourage people to join the Association.