MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT NELSON TOWN HALL ON 25th SEPTEMBER, 2018

PRESENT-

His Worship the Mayor (Councillor J. K. Starkie – in the Chair)

Councillors

G. Adam M. Adams Nadeem Ahmed Nawaz Ahmed M. Ammer E. Ansar Mohammed Arshad Musawar Arshad N. H Ashraf W. Blackburn N. Butterworth R. E. Carroll J. Cooney T. A. Cooney L. M. Crosslev V. A. Fletcher M. S. Foxley P. J. Foxley M. Goulthorp A. R. Greaves K. Hartlev J. M. P. Henderson

M. Horsfield M. Iqbal Y. Iqbal D. E. Lord N. T. McCollum P. A. McCormick N. McEvoy A. Mahmood B. Newman J. A. Nixon J. Purcell M. Sakib K. E. Shore K. Turner C. Wakeford G. Wauah D. Whalley D. M. Whipp T. Whipp P. White S. Wicks N. Younis

31.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members were reminded of the legal requirements concerning the declaration of interests.

32.

FREQUENCY OF ELECTIONS

The Corporate Director submitted a report on a proposed move to four yearly whole elections.

Following a recommendation at the last Council meeting a consultation exercise on this proposal had been held between 18th July and 10th September, 2018. It had been publicised on the Council's website, in the local press and via social media posts. Lancashire County Council, town and parish councils and the three main political parties had also been invited to respond.

Sixty four responses were received and these were referred to in the report.

The legal requirements for a change to whole elections were set out in the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 as amended by the Localism Act 2011. A two thirds majority of Members voting on it was however required. If passed an explanatory document on the decision must be published and made available for public inspection. The Electoral Commission would also be notified.

The forthcoming electoral review of the number of councillors by the Boundary Commission was referred to. If there was a move to whole elections the Commission would be obliged to consider whether single member wards were appropriate. If they considered it was not appropriate it would look at a pattern of three member wards. If the decision was to retain elections by thirds the Commission would just look at three member wards.

It was moved by Councillor P. White, seconded by Councillor Nadeem Ahmed –

- (1) That pursuant to S34 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 20078 (as amended) the Council resolves to move to a scheme of whole council elections and that the first ordinary elections be held in 2020 and every fourth year afterwards.
- (2) That the Corporate Director draws up and publish a document explaining the change and give notice to the Electoral Commission.

RESOLVED

Upon being put to the vote the motion was LOST.

In accordance with rule 17.4 of the constitution and at the request of two Councillors a recorded vote was taken.

Those members voting in favour of the motion were:

Councillors Nadeem Ahmed, Nawaz Ahmed, Musawar Arshad, N. Butterworth, R. E. Carroll, J. Cooney, T. A. Cooney, L. M. Crossley, V. A. Fletcher, M. S. Foxley, P. J. Foxley, M. Goulthorp, M. Horsfield, N. T. McCollum, P. A. McCormick, N. McEvoy, J. Nixon, J. Purcell, J. K. Starkie, K. Turner, C. Wakeford, G. Waugh and P. White.

Those members voting against the motion were:

Councillors G. Adam, M. Adams, M. Ammer, E. Ansar, Mohammed Arshad, N. H. Ashraf, W. Blackburn, A. R Greaves, K. Hartley, J. M. P. Henderson, M. Iqbal, Y. Iqbal, D. E. Lord, A. Mahmood, B. Newman, M. Sakib, K. E. Shore, D. Whalley, D. M. Whipp, T. Whipp, S. Wicks and N. Younis.